CTC386 – Thanks a basket

Well we’ve made it through another week. We’ve had a bit of rain but also some glimpses that some sunny warmer weather may be on the way. Let’s hope it gets here sooner than later. This week we have another sketch challenge and this week we are casing the sketch of one of the cards from page 30 of the July – December 2022 Mini Catalogue which showcases the Lights Aglow Suite.

I’ve been tossing up whether or not to get this Suite or bundle as it does appeal to me but I’m just not sure how much I would use it. You can see the card and the simplified sketch that we are casing in the image above, or for a closer look at just the sketch, have a look at the image below.

I went through some of my recent purchases as I wanted to use a stamp set that I haven’t used yet and settled on the Cheerful Basket stamp set. I decided to make a thank you card for one of my kid’s teachers so was going to use the stationery in the basket to start with, but then changed my mind to the apples. I coloured the basket/bucket and apples in using Crumb Cake, Poppy Parade and Granny Apple Green Blends™. I was really happy with how the shading turned out on the image. You can see a close up below.

After I finished colouring the apples and basket, I realised that it was a tiny bit too big to be cut out using one of the Circle Dies, so ended up leaving it as a rectangle instead. I decided to use the stripey paper from the Celebrate Everything DSP as a mat which I made a bit bigger than the sketch so that you could see it at the top, bottom and side of the basket of apples. I then chose Granny Apple Green as my card base so that it all coordinated nicely. The sentiment comes from the Celebrate Sunflowers stamp set and was heat embossed with White Embossing Powder onto Granny Apple Green cardstock. As I was putting the card together, I didn’t want the sentiment to cover all of my colouring work, so I moved it over a little so that it was only covering a small section of the basket/bucket. I then added a few Rhinestones to finish off the card.

Next up is Peta and Marvi with their take on this sketch. I wonder whether Marvi was cooperating with the photo this week. Keep hopping around to see all of the design team’s creations using this sketch.

We’d love to see what you come up with using this sketch. Just add a photo of your creation on our Facebook page. Don’t forget you can use any products you have, just use the sketch as the basis of your creation.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

3 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.