CTC297 – Christmas Boxes

Welcome to another Sunday and another week of CASEing the Catty. If your week has been anything like mine, it’s been a crazy week so it’s nice to come together and get some inspiration from each other. This week we are CASEing a 3D project from either catalogue. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has come up with this week.

Can you believe it is less than 3 weeks now until Christmas? Have you finished making all of your Christmas cards? Bought all of your presents? Are you ready for Christmas? I have bought a lot of presents but I need to actually go through them and wrap them and work out what I have and who I still need to buy for. If you have someone that you need a quick gift for that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, my project today might help you out.

When you start looking through the catalogues, there are actually quite a few different 3D items that you could case. I decided to case the green box that you can see on the left of the image below however I made a box rather than using one of the Mini Paper Pumpkin Boxes you can buy.

You find the instructions on how to make the box lower down in my post. The box is made from Real Red cardstock and I stamped the sentiment repeatedly over the box in Real Red ink. I then added a strip of the Heartwarming Hugs DSP around the middle. I stamped Santa from the Don’t Stop Believin’ stamp set and coloured him in with Blends™.

The sentiment comes from the Little Treats stamp set and then I cut it out using the Stitched Nested Labels Dies.

My second box is very similar but this time I used the Gnome for the Holidays stamp set.

My third box uses the Elf from the Don’t Stop Believin’ stamp set and some of the sentiments come from the Itty Bitty Christmas stamp set.

As I only had A4 sized cardstock in Real Red, I created this box using that and could make two boxes out of 3 sheets of cardstock. I’m not very good and creating templates, but here is one to show you where you need to score the cardstock. The first piece is cut at 6 3/8″ x 10 3/8″ and scored at the dimensions you can see below. The second piece is 3 7/8″ x 7 7/8″. You cut off the pieces that have the grey dots on them. Once it is all folded up, the 3 7/8″ x 7 7/8″ piece adheres to the two long side flaps to create the box and the smaller ends tuck in. I slightly tapered the pieces that fold in. I hope that makes sense.

This box fits a standard size block of chocolate that you find in Australia.

Next up is Tina with her 3D item to share with us this week. I wonder what she has created. Keep hopping around to see all of the design team’s creations.

What 3D item are you going to make? Make sure you click on the image below and share your creation on our Facebook page as we’d love to see it.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

3 comments

  1. Thankyou for the fabulous measurements!! They are all gorgeous, and the nested labels really do finish off perfectly! Love all the different greetings you’ve used!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.