CTC275 – Sketch from page 130

Welcome to another week of CASEing the Catty. Whether you have hopped on over from Julia’s beautiful card or are starting here with me, welcome.  This week for #CTC275 we are CASEing a Sketch based on one of the cards on page 130 of the Annual Catalogue.

You can see the sketch below.  It’s such a versatile sketch.  What would you create with it?

First up I had to make a card for my MIL’s birthday.  I looked at the Seaside View stamp set and thought this would be perfect.  So I stamped the image in Black Memento Ink and coloured it in using my Blends™ before cutting it out using one of the dies from the Hippo & Friends Dies.  Even though the sketch has a circle, you don’t have to do it exactly so my shape isn’t a circle.  I ended up putting the sentiment towards the bottom of the scene as I didn’t want to cover up the image.  Now this is where I really struggled.  Do you have those days where no matter how many combinations you try, you aren’t happy with any of them? Well that was me.  I tried so many different pieces of DSP, embossed cardstock etc for the background and the panel piece.  I’m still not 100% happy with this card, but it was the best out of all of the versions I tried.

As I wasn’t 100% happy with my card, I decided to make another one.  This time using the Nothing’s Better Than stamp set and Love You More Than Dies.  I started with a Real Red card base then added a mat of Whisper White and another mat of Real Red which I ran through the Subtle Embossing Folder.  I stamped many of the cookie image in Early Espresso and then the “fill” stamp in Crumb Cake before cutting them out with the Dies.  I positioned the cookies so that they looked like a pile of full cookies to represent the panel on the sketch.

As I was making my second card with the cookies, Cookie Monster came to mind and I had to make another card seeing as I still had lots of extra cookies that I had stamped and cut out. This card doesn’t fit the sketch completely but still has some of the elements and was too cute not to share it with you.  This card used Pacific Point cardstock with the Layering Circle Dies.  The sentiment is cut out using the dies in Real Red and the crumbs I stamped on the background are Crumb Cake with a stamp from the recently retired Label Me Bold stamp set.

Next up is Rachel with her beautiful floral card.  Keep hopping around to check out all of the design team’s creations.

Please share your creation on our Facebook page by clicking the image below.  We’d love to see what you have created and you don’t need a blog to be able to join in.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

5 comments

  1. I think all 3 cards are great Michelle, and really love the seaside scene. I think you were just looking for an excuse to make more cards! Ha,ha!

  2. Love these cards Michelle. Love the colouring work on your first card, and how you structure the cookies to fit the design of the sketch on the second. But I have to say… Cookie Monster steals the show!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.