CTC370 – Garden Birthday Wishes

Welcome to another Sunday evening and CASEing the Catty challenge. Today I was lucky enough to spend the day with family celebrating my mum’s 75th birthday. I’m so grateful to have been able to share this milestone with her. I had to write my blog ahead of time so I’m hoping that it is all smooth sailing when it goes live.

This week we are casing a Bundle Project from the January – June 2022 Mini Catalogue so I decided to case the Home & Garden Bundle project from page 80. You can see the project in the image below. My mum has always loved gardening so I decided to make this card for her birthday. I’m not sure if you are the same as me, but when I want to make a special birthday, I always struggle to get it to come together how I have it in my head. Well that was the case again with this card.

I decided to flip the central panel and used the same bundle on my card but after many changes and alterations, I think they are the main things that I took for my inspiration from this card. I started with a Garden Green card base and then cut another Basic White card base which was slightly narrower than the normal card base to create a central panel. I did use some of the retired DSP for the woodgrain panels.

I stamped all of the images from the Home & Garden stamp set on Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Mossy Meadow and Garden Green using the same ink colour as the cardstock.

I then used the coordinating Garden Dies to cut these out and used some Silver Foil for the blades etc of the tools. This is when you open the “door” to the shed and can see all of the goodies inside (still on the front of the card). The pot comes from the Perfect Plants Dies and was cut out of Cajun Craze cardstock.

Then for the inside of the card I used the new Framed Occasions stamp set and Beautiful Shapes Dies. The sentiment is white on a white base even though it does look a little cream in the photo.

Here is a photo from the side to try and show you how the different layers of the card work.

As part of my mum’s gift I made this bromeliad out of cardstock. It is a Dreaming Tree design and I was really happy with the end result. My mum has bromeliads in her backyard and has for years, so I thought I’d make her one that doesn’t need much looking after since her health isn’t as good as it used to be. I hope when you read this that it made it safely to Sydney in my hand luggage and didn’t become a casualty.

Next up on our blog hop this week is fellow South Aussie, Tina with her creation. Make sure you keep hopping around to see all of the design team’s projects.

The challenge runs for a week, so you have plenty of time to make your own creation. Make sure you share a photo of your project on our Facebook page.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

2 comments

  1. Your card is fabulous – how clever to create a shed that opens on your card. I love it! The bromeliad is spectacular, and I really hope that it survived the trip!

  2. Oh I love love love your card AND the Bromeliad is AHMAZXING!!! WOW – I bet your mum loved them too. The opening door of the shed is marvellous. THankyou for the amazing inspiration.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.