CTC306 – Bring the Bling

Woo hoo! It’s Sunday again which means it’s time for another week of CASEing the Catty and a new challenge. This week has a great title that Rebecca Scurr came up with, “Bring the Bling”. You can case any glitter/sparkly project. So what could that be? Embossing powder? Glimmer Paper? Some rhinestones or other bling? Maybe the new Gilded Leafing? Whatever you pick, your project is sure to sparkle! Whether you’ve just hopped on over from Julia’s or are starting here on my blog, welcome and enjoy the bling.

I decided to case the Rich Razzleberry card on the left in the image below but decided to give the Gilded Leafing (which is a new product from the January to June 2021 Mini Catalogue) a go for my first time.

I started with a Blushing Bride card base and then cut another mat of Blushing Bride. On the mat, I cased the background from the card above. To create the circles, I used the inside piece of the speech bubble from the Snailed It stamp set and stamped randomly in Versamark before applying some Heat & Stick Powder and heating it until melted. I then attached some Gilded Leafing and brushed off any excess. Ok so I may have made a bit of a mess. I was trying to brush some excess from my mat back into a container when the static caused the gilded leafing in the container to stick to the bottom of my mat which was actually more than I was trying to tip back in. Don’t cough, sneeze or laugh around this stuff as it goes everywhere!

I used the Kangaroo & Company stamp set again this week to turn this into a baby card as my cousin just fond out that she is having a baby girl in a few months’ time so this card will be perfect for her (hopefully she doesn’t see this and spoil the surprise).

After making this card, I figured I’d make another sparkly card seeing as I had the Gilded Leafing out anyway. To create the background of this card I added strips of double sided tape in stripes across the card and added the Gilded Leafing. For the main image I used the Silhouette Scenes stamp set and used the Gilded Leafing again. I did try using it on a sentiment, however I don’t think it is designed to be used on smaller, thinner lines, so I decided to leave it without a sentiment so it could be used for a few different occasions.

Next up is Siobhan with her Bring the Bling project. I can’t wait to see all of the sparkly projects this week so make sure you keep hopping around too, so you can check them out too.

We’d love you to join in this fun challenge. Which Bling project will you case? Which Bling will you use? Please share your creation on our Facebook page.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

4 comments

  1. Love your kangaroo twist on the original!
    The gold against black is a standout and a great idea to use tape for the stripes. I would have gold foiling everywhere if I tried it

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.