Social Stamping – Sympathy

Welcome to another Social Stamping Blog Hop, hosted by the lovely Kelly Kent.  You may have noticed that what was happening weekly during the initial coronavirus time has been extended, however it will now be on a monthly basis.  I originally thought that I was going to have to give this one a miss, however as it turned out, I unfortunately needed to make a sympathy card this week for one of my colleagues who had been ill for a bit over a year and lost her battle with cancer.  Which means I now had a card that I had created this week which would fit this theme.  My sympathy goes out to her family, friends, colleagues and anyone else who knew her.

I started with a Highland Heather card base.  I then cut a mat of Whisper White cardstock and used the Basic Pattern Decorative Masks with the Shimmery White Embossing Paste to create the textured background.  I then used the retired Heirloom Frames Embossing Folder and Die to create the frame.  You may be able to see some of the shimmer on the embossing paste in the photo below but it’s really hard to get a good photo showing this.

I used the Timeless Tulips stamp set with Highland Heather & Pear Pizzazz and used the coordinating punch for the main flower and leaf and fussy cut the rest.  The sentiment was heat embossed with White Embossing Powder and cut out using one of the ovals from the Stitched Shapes Dies.

This is the inside of the card.  I wanted to try and keep the card simple, yet elegant.

I had a spare background with the embossing past and some extra tulips so decided to make another card.  I sponged over the top of the embossing paste with some Highland Heather ink on this one and used the Stitched So Sweetly Dies for the sentiment and piece behind the tulips.

I always find sympathy cards difficult to make.  Next up is Lou and I’m sure her project will be amazing.

If you get lost along the way or want to read the main host blog for this hop, click on the image below and you will be able to see the full list of participants and links.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

6 comments

  1. Your cards are gorgeous Michelle. I’m sorry you needed a sympathy card this week but I am sure your colleague’s family will be comforted by the love you share through your card. Look after yourself as well. x

  2. Both lovely cards Michelle. I really love the sentiments you have used for your colleagues family. I know your card will be cherished. x

  3. Such pretty cards and understandably hard for you to make at this time.
    Love the use of the embossing paste to give texture and the tulips look fabulous framed.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.