Social Stamping Hearts

Is it just me, or are these weeks flying by?  Welcome to another week of Social Stamping and this week the theme is “hearts”.  I don’t have any stamp sets with hearts so I had to have a bit more of a think as to what I was going to do this week.

In April 2019, I went to Onstage Live in Auckland, and at the time Floating Frame Cards were all the craze.  While I was there I got some Press N’ Seal as we didn’t have it in our supermarkets here in Australia with the intention of coming back and making these cards.  Well, fast forward a bit over a year later and I still haven’t made the Floating Frame Cards!  Whoops!  So now was the time to brush the dust off the box and make my first ones.

I’ve included quite a few photos today as a bit of a photo tutorial on how you make this type of card.

I decided to use the Butterfly Gala stamp set and stamped a number of these with Black Memento ink before colouring them in using a range of Blends™ colours.  Once I had finished colouring these in, I used the Butterfly Duet Punch to punch all of them out and then stamped the middle of the butterflies.

Once they were all cut out, I arranged these onto a piece of cardstock that has been cut the same size as a card front, trying to get these as close as possible to each other with minimal gaps.

I then put a piece of Press n’ Seal gently on top, trying to not move any of the butterflies and pressed it down gently to stick to the Press n’ Seal.  I then used scissors to trim along the edges of the cardstock so that there were no butterflies hanging over the edge.

Once you have done this, you can then cut out a “frame” in the centre in whatever shape you like.  Rectangles and circles are always popular, but seeing as the theme this week was hearts, I decided to cut out a heart from retired Hearts Collection Framelits.  You can see above how this looks.  The Press n’ Seal is still attached to the front of the butterflies.

You can then remove the cardstock from the back and put Dimensionals™ everywhere! This is what makes it look like a floating frame.

Before removing the backs of the Dimensionals™ I placed the butterfly frame over the top of a Basic Black card base and stamped the sentiment from the Peaceful Moments stamp set in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with White Embossing Powder.

Remove the backing from all of the Dimensionals™ and carefully attach it to the card base before gently peeling off the Press n’ Seal.  I was really happy with how this turned out and the bright colours stand out so well against the black background.

The bonus you get when making a Floating Frame card is that you get two cards from the one cut out piece.  For the second card I used the cut out heart section.  I cut out a mat with the Stitched Rectangles Dies and ran this through the Subtle Embossing Folder.

The sentiment comes from the Label Me Bold stamp set which was stamped in Highland Heather.

So which one do you prefer?  The black or white card?

Next up is Chantell with her “heart” creation.  Keep hopping around to check out all of the creations this week.

If you get lost along the hop, click on the image below and it will take you back to the main post with links for all of the participants.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

10 comments

  1. Great take on the theme Michelle! Such a cool technique, I used it a little while ago after I was gifted some Press & Seal but I must try it again! Kelly x PS, where has this year gone? Let me know when you find out the answer!

  2. Wowsers! This is awesome – and you nailed the theme even with out any heart stamps!! Woohoo! Love the dynamic wow factor of the black background! Awesome cards!

  3. This is a really lovely idea – two cards in one go. Love the colourful butterflies on both the black and white backgrounds.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.