CTC254 – Happy Retirement

Welcome to another week of CASEing the Catty.  You may have hopped on over from Julia’s cute Christmas tree card or you may be starting here with me.  Either way, welcome and enjoy this week’s hop.

This week we are CASEing the layouts on page 22 of the 2019 Holiday Catalogue.  I needed to make a retirement card for a lovely lady at my work who had been on long service leave and then decided to retire and continue travelling and enjoying life with her husband.  She’s always loved my cards so I wanted to make her one last one before she left. I decided to case the card in the image above that had the 3 penguins on it and decided to use the Free as a Bird stamp set for the main image instead.

I coloured the main image with Blends™ and added a thin strip of Balmy Blue cardstock behind this before layering it onto a piece of DSP from the Bird Ballad DSP.  I finished the card of by stamping “Retirement” from the Well Said stamp set in Versamark and heat embossing it in White Embossing Powder.  I originally put the sentiment on the left hand side like the card I was CASEing, and tried different twines etc but just couldn’t get it to work so thought … less is more and moved the sentiment to the right hand side as it seemed to work better there.

I was making the card the night before giving it to her so the photo isn’t the best due to having to take it at night time.

Make sure you keep hopping around as next up we have Peta with her Christmas card that has an amazing background.

Which layout will you choose to CASE?  We’d love to see what you come up with so please share it on our Facebook page by clicking the image below.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

3 comments

  1. I love the way the birds on the branch work perfectly for the repeat image! So clever, and the colouring is stunning. She’s a very lucky lady to receive such a lovely card!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.