CTC230 – Retiring Big Shot Project

Welcome to another week at CASEing the Catty.  You may be starting with me or you may have hopped on over from Tina’s creation.  Either way, welcome and I hope you enjoy hopping around the design team’s projects to give you lots of inspiration and encourage you get some of the retiring items before they are gone in a few day’s time.

This week we are CASEing our Favourite Big Shot Project.  Well, I’ve looked at this project in the catalogue a number of times and have almost used it for my inspiration on a few occasions, so this time I decided it was time. I have cased the bottom right card in the image, however as I don’t have the Dear Doily stamp set or Doily Builder Thinlits Dies, I decided to create my own version.

I decided to use the Eastern Beauty stamp set and Eastern Medallions Thinlits to create a similar look.  I started with a Bermuda Bay card base and then cut a mat in Whisper White which was 1/2cm shorter on each side.  To create the background I stamped the flower shaped image repeatedly over the mat in Bermuda Bay and then stamped the heart image in Coastal Cabana 6 times inside each flower.  I was really happy with how it looked. The sentiments come from Itty Bitty Birthdays stamp set and Piece of Cake stamp set.  I finished the card off with some of the Glitter Enamel Dots in Coastal Cabana, Melon Mambo and Gorgeous Grape to match the colours I used with the die cut images.

The second card is similar, however I started with a Coastal Cabana card base and I used the Painted Glass stamp set window image which I stamped in Coastal Cabana for the background on the mat.  I used the same die from the Eastern Medallions Thinlits behind the main sentiment however this time I cut it out with the Circle Framelit around the outside to create a similar shape to the stamped images.

So which version is your favourite? I would love to hear what you think.  I love how you can use a card for inspiration and get a similar effect by using a different stamp set.  Which retiring Big Shot item are you going to miss the most?

Remember to keep hopping around to see some great projects using retiring Big Shot items.  If you haven’t got them and love what you see, make sure you grab them in the next few days before they are gone.  Please contact me if there is anything you would like to buy.  Next up on the hop is Sandra.

If you create a project for this week’s challenge using any of the retiring Big Shot items, or CASE a card that is using retiring Big Shot items, make sure you add them to our Facebook challenge page by clicking the image below.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

6 comments

  1. What a fabulous CASE. I think I prefer the second one but the colours and effect in both a terrific.

  2. Great CASE, Michelle – I love how you can be inspired by something even when its not the set that you have. They are both awesome but he second one edges out the first as the favourite for me – that stamp works so well as a background.

  3. Love love love the colours you’ve used. And both cards are gorgeous. What a great way to show off this eastern beauty bundle. Love the stained glass circle in the background. Stunner.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.