The Artful Stampers – Team Challenge Blog Hop 19 – Colour Challenge

Thanks for popping by to have a look at my version of The Artful Stampers Blog Hop Team Colour Challenge this week.  You may have come from Tamsin’s blog!

This week when I saw the colour challenge I had no idea where to start.  Having a young child with another on the way, and a lot of friends also pregnant or recently had children, my first thought is always for a baby or kids card.  I was determined this week to challenge myself and NOT make a baby card.

Here are the colours we were given to work with …

Artful Stampers Challenge 19

So I decided to make a birthday card using the Amazing Birthday stampset. I’ve used Lost Lagoon and Smoky Slate on a number of occasions but haven’t really used Basic Grey or So Saffron before, so this was probably my biggest challenge!

So this is what I ended up with …

Banner & Button Birthday Card

I started off by stamping the circle stamps from the Amazing Birthday stampset in each of the colours.  This way I could see what they would look like on the card in the various colours.  I used Whisper White cardstock as the base and matted this with Smoky Slate and Basic Grey.  I then stamped the banner stamp from the same set in Lost Lagoon on Lost Lagoon cardstock and used the Banner Framelits to cut it out. The smaller banner is from the Perfect Pennants stampset.

After making this card, I thought I may as well make another one seeing as I had all of the cardstock, extra stamped images etc handy and ready to use.

So here is the second card I came up with …

Tea Bag Folding It's for You Card

This card uses the new Sweet Dreams Designer Series Paper from the Occasions Catalogue which I have cut and folded using the teabag folding technique to create a star shape. Again I used the Smoky Slate and Basic Grey mats on the Whisper White cardstock base.

But I still had leftover supplies sitting on my desk, so why waste them … so I made a third card.  This time it was a smaller note card.

Here it is …

It's For You Washi Tape Note Card

This was a very simple card using the Sweet Dreams Designer Washi Tape and offcuts of Basic Grey, So Saffron and Smoky Slate cardstock.

Artful Stampers Colour Challenge 19 - 3 cards

Now it is time to hop on over to Alisa’s blog to check out her amazing project for this week!

Don’t forget that it is Sale-A-Bration time at the moment where you get to choose 1 free product from the Sale-A-Bration Brochure for every $90 you spend.  If you’d like to place an order, please contact me at stampinstrazds@gmail.com or on 0408 448 426.

Happy Stamping

Michelle

Products used:

Card #1

  • Cardstock – Whisper White, Smoky Slate, Basic Grey, Lost Lagoon and So Saffron
  • Ink Pad – Smoky Slate, Lost Lagoon, So Saffron and Versamark
  • Stamp Set – Amazing Birthday and Perfect Pennants
  • Framelits – Circles Collection and Banner
  • Punch – Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border Punch
  • Tools – Simply Scored Scoring Tool, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine, Sponge Daubers, Dots & Stripes Decorative Mask, Heat Embossing Tool
  • Embellishments – Sweet Dreams Designer Buttons, Whisper White Baker’s Twine
  • Adhesives – Multipurpose Liquid Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals™ and SNAIL adhesive

Card #2

  • Cardstock – Whisper White, Smoky Slate and Basic Grey
  • Ink Pad – So Saffron
  • Stamp Set – Amazing Brithday
  • Framelits – Circle Collection
  • Designer Series Paper – Sweet Dreams
  • Tools – Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine
  • Embellishments – 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon in Lost Lagoon
  • Adhesives – Multipurpose Liquid Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals™ and SNAIL adhesive

Note Card

  • Cardstock – Whisper White, Smoky Slate, Basic Grey and So Saffron
  • Ink Pad – Lost Lagoon
  • Stamp Set – Something for Baby and A Dozen Thoughts
  • Framelits – Circle Collection
  • Tools – Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer and Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine
  • Embellishments – Sweet Dreams Designer Washi Tape
  • Adhesives – Stampin’ Dimensionals™ and SNAIL adhesive

4 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.