CTC422 – A Bundle of Birthday Wishes

Hello! It’s Sunday night again and time for another CASEing the Catty challenge. This week we are CASEing one of the bundles from the Annual Catalogue.

It’s my daughter’s birthday coming up this week so this was the perfect challenge to make her card. She absolutely loves monkeys and has had her favourite toy monkey since she was 2 years old. The Little Monkey Bundle was the perfect bundle to use for her card this year. She still has the cards I made for her past 3 birthdays on display on her bedroom as they were 3D/interactive type cards. She loves making cards with me so I always like to put in a bit more effort to make them special. This year was no different.

For the base of the card I used Balmy Blue, Old Olive and Basic White cardstock. I used the cloud die from the Basic Borders Dies to cut the bottom of the white panel and then cut out some clouds from the Playing in the Rain Dies and used these as masks with Smoky Slate ink and a Blending Brush on the White piece to bring out the clouds more.

I used the Little Monkey stamp set to stamp all of the images and coloured these in using Blends™. I used the coordinating punch to punch out the monkey that matches and the bananas. The rest of the images I had to fussy cut out, but the end result made it worth it.

The interactive part on this card is when you pull the card out and the monkey pops down and the bananas pop up as if the monkey is trying to catch them. I put 8 bananas on the front of the card as she is turning 8 years old.

I added a panel on the back to write my message and added a few more elements on the back to finish the card off nicely.

Here is a short video that shows how the card looks as you pull it apart with the pop outs working. I hope she loves her card when she gets it later this week.

I only realised as I went to write my blog that it was meant to be a bundle on pages 155 – 160 which are the bundles with the coordinating dies, but it was too late to create another card as I’d spent hours on this one getting it just right. I hope you all still enjoy my case of a bundle, even though it’s a punch bundle. Next up this week is Monique with her case of a bundle from the 2023 – 2024 Annual catalogue. Make sure you hop around until you get back to the start to see all of the design team’s creations.

I love bundles as it makes creating so much easier without all the fussy cutting. Well, most of the time, unless you make a card like mine and still need to cut some of the elements by hand. Which is your favourite bundle? Why not case it and share a photo of your creation on our Facebook page?

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

3 comments

  1. I love the mechanism in your card that makes the monkey grab at the bananas!!! How cute is that? And such a clever idea to have 8 bananas on the front of the card.

  2. Do you share how you make the movable parts to create this card somewhere? Love it so much! So amazing and beautiful use of the stamps.

    • I don’t have exact details as it took a bit of fiddling around at the time and I didn’t write down the measurements etc as I kept changing it. You get a strip of cardstock and then fold the edge down like a triangle. Then do the same next to it from the other side with the long lever bit going down. You attach the small triangle with glue to the folded panel on the side of the card so that when you pull the side of the card out, the lever comes down or up, depending on where you have attached it. Hope this helps.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.