CTC393 – Caroling Mice Blending

Hello! It is Sunday evening again. I’m sure these weeks are flying by quicker & quicker each week. Did you know that it is now less than 2 months until Christmas?!?! How crazy is that? I’m trying to get organised before the crazy period really starts so that I can try and fit everything in. How about you? Have you made your Christmas cards yet? When do you start making them? Now that I’ve reminded you that it’s less than 2 months until Christmas, has that given you nudge to get a start on them? Well, I have another card as inspiration for you today using this week’s challenge. Case a Blending Brush technique.

I decided to case this gnome card that you can see in the image below. I liked how it had the glow behind the focal image and that there were different colours blended together. I decided to use more traditional Christmas colours on my card though.

I started with a Real Red card base and then cut a mat of Basic White to use for my blending. I started with Shaded Spruce ink and worked my way from the outside of the mat towards the middle with my Blending Brush, keeping it darker towards the outside and lighter as I moved in. I then added a bit of Real Red ink in the middle to give it that “glow”.

I used the Caroling Mice stamp set for my focal image which I coloured in with Blends™ and fussy cut this out and added it to the front of the card. I also added some musical notes to the background as the original card also had some stamped images on it. I decided to add a thin mat of Shaded Spruce cardstock behind the blended piece as it needed that little extra between the blended mat and Real Red mat.

Next up this week is Peta with her lovely set of Christmas cards. Make sure you keep hopping around to see different techniques using blending brushes.

Blending brushes are a great way to add colour to your project. We’d love to see what you come up with so make sure you add your photo to our Facebook page.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

One comment

  1. I like the glow behind your mice too, hadn’t taken much notice of the gnomes, so good you’ve brought that to my attention.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.