CTC391 – Design a Treat Reindeers

I’m here! Yay! Luckily, I decided to get organised early for this challenge as it’s been a crazy week. It’s my son’s birthday during the week this week so we had his birthday party with friends today. That means lots of prep from me including making his cake. I’ve always made my kids birthday cakes just like my mum used to always make ours. You’ve got to love the Women’s Weekly Children’s Birthday Cake Cookbook! I’ve made a number from there over the years, or variations from there using the base idea/concept. Well, this year was a bit different. This year I made a Switch birthday cake.

Anyway, back to the challenge. This week we are casing the bundle section from the July – December 2022 Mini Catalogue which is on pages 72 – 79. I love how these challenges inspire me to use stamp sets or bundles I may not have used yet. I decided to use the Design a Treat Bundle which is on page 74 and the card above in the challenge image with the presents & reindeer was my inspiration.

I started with a Shaded Spruce card base. On a strip of Basic White, I stamped the spotty image from the Design a Treat stamp set randomly over the panel in Crumb Cake (stamped off). I measured the side of the box that you create from the Design a Treat Box Dies and then cut this same size out in the red & green DSP from the Celebrate Everything DSP and also from Crumb Cake cardstock. I stamped the reindeer face and cut out the antlers, adding a little ink using a Blending Brush to the edges of the reindeer face and antlers. The antlers and the bows come from the Design a Treat Box Dies. After that, it came together quite quickly.

After making my first card, I had a few extra pieces. I had an extra reindeer & 2 presents so I decided to make a second card. Why waste these extra pieces and if I put them to the side to use later, I never seem to get around to using them. So, I decided to cut out 3 circles in different sizes of different designs from the Santa Express DSP. I decided to cut down the size of the present for the top circle and also trimmed the bow. The sentiment is also from the Design a Treat stamp set.

When making the cards, I couldn’t not make a cute little reindeer gift box also! It was so easy to make using the Design a Treat Box Dies. There are also other dies for other occasions so you can use them all year round.

Here is a picture of the cake I made for my son’s birthday party and another comparing it to a real Nintendo Switch. I was pretty happy with how it turned out.

Next up this week casing the bundle section of the July to December 2022 Mini Catalogue is Julia with her cute gift box.

We’d love for you to join in this week’s challenge and share your creation with us on our Facebook page.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

2 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.