CTC373 – Monkey Business for a special birthday

Well what a crazy weekend this has been! It was my daughter’s 7th birthday yesterday so we’ve had a jam packed weekend enjoying Disney on Ice, decorating cakes, birthday parties etc. I think I’ll need to go back to work for a rest! But it has been a wonderful weekend, so I can’t complain.

This week we are CASEing an embossing project and I chose the deer card on the far right of the image below which is on page 95 of the Annual Catty. And because it was my daughter’s birthday yesterday, if you guessed the card I made this week was for my daughter, you’d be right.

After making some very avid crafter style cards for in the past, I always seem to put a lot of pressure on myself with her cards as she loves cards and still displays my last two on the shelf in her bedroom. Therefore I always feel like they don’t come together easily and I’m not 100% happy with them, but the main thing is that she loved it. She has a favourite toy monkey which she has had since she was about 2 years old (and about 20 other monkey toys), so the Catch You Later stamp set was perfect for her card.

I started with a Shaded Spruce card base and then added a mat of Shaded Spruce which I cut out a section in the middle using the Layering Diorama Dies and then ran it through the Layered Leaves Embossing Folder (retired as I don’t have any current embossing folders with leaves or vines). I stamped the monkeys image from the Catch You Later stamp set and coloured them in using Blends™ before layering this behind the diorama cut out.

I decided to make it a pop up card and used Mint Macaron as the inside card panel. I stamped the leaf / vine image from the Lovely You stamp set and the bananas are from the retired Cute Fruit stamp set. I created the monkey for the pop up as punch art using a circle of Early Espresso for the head and Crumb Cake heart for the face, smaller circles for the ears and an oval for the nose & mouth. I traced the edge of the oval die to create the mouth with a Stampin’ Write Marker and also used it for the eyes & nose.

Here’s a photo of her very well loved monkey (or Chunk McMonk as he’s been referred to as lately) next to the inside of the card where I was trying to represent him.

Here is the cake that I made for her birthday party. Sugar overload for all of the kids at her party, that’s for sure.

Next up is Rebecca with her creation casing an embossing project. Rebecca loves embossing like me. There are so many different types of embossing that I love – embossing folders, embossing paste, embossing powder – you name it, I’m a fan. Keep hopping around to see all of the design team’s projects.

What type of embossing is your favourite? With so many embossing projects in the Catalogues, which project will you case? Don’t forget to share your photo on our Facebook page.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

2 comments

  1. What a fabulous fun card and the surprise monkey punch art is perfect on the inside. I bet your daughter was chuffed to have such a creative Mum! Great effort all round.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.