Social Stamping – Out of the box

Welcome to another week of Social Stamping which has been organised by the lovely and super talented Kelly Kent.  The theme for this week is “Out of the Box” which is a super fun theme and worked out well for me as I was still waiting for my box of new goodies to arrive when it was my daughter’s 5th birthday so it was the perfect opportunity for me to get creative and come up with something special for her birthday seeing as she wasn’t able to have a birthday party this year.  We did manage to have a few family come over on the weekend to help her celebrate.

For her birthday we bought her a little vanity table and some play makeup (you can see this set up in her room below) so I used this as my inspiration and decided to create a little vanity table card for her.

When I looked online, I used Maymay Made It’s bench card tutorial as a base and then altered it slightly with measurements and how I decorated it.  I was really happy with how it turned out.

I had to use some retired items to make it all come together.  For the vanity table itself, I used the Whitewash timber look and pale timber look DSP from the retired Wood Textures DSP.  I used the Layered Circles Dies and the Stitched Shapes Dies with Silver Foil to create the mirror section.

The coat hanger comes from the Something for Baby Dies and the dress was cut out using the Dress Up Framelits Dies with the Best Dressed DSP.  I used the Simple Stripes Embossing folder to create the wood panel look onto the walls.

I used a variety of punches and dies and also cut some parts freehand to create the make up, perfume, nail polish pieces.

I also created the little gift bag from the All Dressed Up Dies to hold some gift cards that my dad sent my daughter for her birthday.

My daughter ended up using the shelf on the vanity table card to hold some of her nail polishes and other makeup pieces so it ended up being more than just a card.

Seeing as we are are sharing out of the box projects, I thought I would also share the Barbie Doll cake I made for her birthday which she also loved.

Next up is Narelle with her out of the box creation.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with this week.  I am sure they will be all so very different.

If you get lost at any point along the hop, click on the image below and it will take you to the main blog host post with links to all of the participants and creations.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

11 comments

  1. A very happy birthday to your daughter Michelle. Fabulous card – aren’t our kids lucky to have clever crafty mums who can make amazing birthday cards! Kely x

    • I have to admit Kelly, this is the first birthday card I’ve actually made her and she just turned 5! I’m always making cards for everyone else and have neglected my kids so this year I had to make her a special one.

  2. Beautiful bench card Michelle, I’ll bet your daughter was thrilled to receive a birthday card that matched her present. Also we’ll done with her cake 😊

  3. How adorable is that card, cake and makeup table. Even though it might not have been the celebration your daughter might have wanted I bet she was over the moon with all of these special things. Just fabulous Michelle. x

  4. What a very clever mummy and a lucky girl to have all these special things made for her. There is so much to love about your amazing card. I particularly love the detail of the woodgrain paper for the vanity table and the beautiful dress hanging to the side. Looks like the perfect party dress for a 5 year old girl. Love it all!! 🙂 Siobhan.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.