CTC233 – Case a Layout

It’s time for another week of CASEing the Catty!  Whether you have just hopped over from Rachel’s page or are starting here, welcome.  This week we are looking at all of the beautiful projects on page 36 of the new annual catalogue and casing one of the layouts.

I chose to case the large “Thinking of you” card in the centre of the image above, but switched it up using the Come Sail Away Suite.  I started with a Night of Navy card base and added the sail boat card from the Come Sail Away Memories & More Card Pack as a mat.

I stamped the large and small boat images from the Sailing Home stamp set in Black Memento ink and coloured them in using the Blends™ in light & dark Night of Navy and light & dark Crumb Cake with some Balmy Blue for the water and then cut them out using the coordinating Smooth Sailing Dies.  The two boats are representing the large flower image from the original card.  The banner that I stamped the “It’s your day” sentiment on in Night of Navy is one of the sticker embellishments in the card pack and I finished the card off with some of the coordinating Baker’s Twine and Sail Away Trinket to replace the twine bow.

I decided to make a second card using the same layout and Memories & More cards. This time I chose one of the Mossy Meadow cards as my mat.  I stamped the “Happy Birthday” from the Itty Bitty Birthdays stamp set directly onto the card. I stamped the Lighthouse from Sailing Home stamp set and coloured with the Crumb Cake and Granny Apply Green Blends™ and cut out with the coordinating dies.  I then cut two of the seaweed (?) images out in Mossy Meadow and layered these behind the lighthouse.  Instead of the twine bow as seen on the original card, I used the rope & rope knot embossed dies to create a similar look.

So which card do you prefer?  The blue or the green?  Memories & More Card Packs can be used for making cards, as well as for memory keeping.  What have you created with the card packs?

Don’t you just love a new catalogue?  There are so many new and fresh samples for you to get your ideas from.  Make sure you keep hopping around to see what the rest of the design team have come up with this week.  Next up on the hop is Judy.

Why don’t you join in our challenge?  Which layout from the image above would you choose to CASE this week?  We’d love to see what you have come up with.  Make sure you click on the link below and add your creation to our page, no blog necessary.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

6 comments

  1. Both fabulous cards Michelle! Love the rope detail in the second card. If you make me choose I’d say green (based on my personal colour preference) as too hard to pick!

  2. Are you really going to make me choose a favourite?? The green edges out the blue for me but only just as they are both great CASEs. I love the use of the M&M cards as the backgrounds. And how cute is that rope die?? I haven’t actually noticed that before. 🙂 Siobhan.

  3. LOve the rope and knot combination!! Tooo clever!! Love your colouring too!! Love BOTH of your cards, and if possible I would love to CASE you please? These cards are just AWESOME!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.