Midnight Inklings Team Blog Hop

Welcome to the first Midnight Inklings Team Blog Hop.  I am a member of the Midnight Inklings Team and today we are hopping to showcase some of the new products from the recently released 2018-2019 Annual Catalogue. I’m sure that you will get lots of inspiration from the amazing crafters in our team.

I decided to use the Painted Glass stamp set today to create a birthday card for my mother in law.  As I have recently received a few of the new colours that have also been released with the new catalogue, I decided to showcase Grapefruit Grove on this card.

I reverted back to one of my favourite techniques, Emboss Resist, and started out by stamping the round stained glass image in Versamark across the page and then heat embossed using Clear Embossing Powder.  Don’t forget to use your Embossing Buddy over the cardstock first so you don’t get any stray bits of embossing powder where it shouldn’t be.

Using a sponge dauber, I started in the centre of each circle and applied the ink by working outwards so that it was darker in the centre and getting lighter as you went out.  I attached this piece to a Grapefruit Grove card base and finished the card off with the sentiment from the same stamp set which was cut out using the Stitched Shapes Framelits and some Grapefruit Grove 1/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon.

After I finished making the birthday card, I decided to make another card using the same stamp set and technique.  This time I decided to showcase another new colour, Gorgeous Grape.  I followed the same procedure as above and used Gorgeous Grape cardstock for the base, applied some Clear Rhinestone Basic Jewels in the centre of each round window, some White Baker’s Twine and cut the “Thank You” sentiment into a banner shape before attaching it on dimensionals.

I hope you enjoyed these cards I shared with you today.  For more inspiration, please keep hopping the whole way around. Next up on the hop is Jodi. I’m sure you will love what she has come up with.

If you get lost at any point, you can find the full list below.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

Midnight Inklings Team Blog Hop – New Annual Catalogue 2018 – Participant List

1: Carolyn Bennie

2: Sharni Haines

3: Shannon Kissane

You are here – 4: Michelle Strazds

5: Jodi Gerardis

10 comments

  1. These cards are stunning, i love the emboss resist technique and you do it beautifully. I especially love the Gorgeous Grape – can’t wait to get that colour. Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks Shannon. I think the emboss resist technique is definitely my go to technique if I need a quick card or trying a new stamp set and not sure what to do 🙂

  2. These cards are just beautiful Michelle! Your colouring technique is inspiring and I will definitely be trying this one out. I love the monochromatic effect, lovely blog thanks for sharing. x

  3. Beautiful Michelle. So clever. I always forget this technique and yet it is so pretty and easy.

  4. So, so pretty!! I just love these kinds of mandala style cards. The colours are beautiful as well Michelle. Thanks for participating in our Midnight Inklings Blog Hop. x C

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.