Guest Designer – CASEing The Catty

I am so excited and honoured to have been asked to be a guest designer for this week’s CASEing The Catty Sunday Blog Hop. You maybe starting with my blog or you may have come from the very talented Krissy. Make sure you continue all the way around the blog hop to see what everyone has come up with!

This week for #CTC141 we are CASEing the birthday section of the 2017-2018 Stampin’ Up!® Annual Catalogue on pages 68-85. I’ve seen CASE to have a few different meanings (Copy And Share Everything or Copy And Selectively Edit).  So pick an image from the section of the catalogue and make your own version. You may choose to keep a layout, colour scheme, stamp set, embellishment or any combination of these for your card. You get to decide!

I had trouble deciding which card to CASE for this challenge, so ended up choosing two different images and made two very different cards. For the first card I have used this image on page 82 as my inspiration. I have seen quite a few different variations of the card, so decided to mix it up a bit.

I decided to give the card a watercolour background rather than the white embossed one on the sample from the catalogue.  My very talented upline, Carolyn Bennie, recently shared a watercolour mermaid card with us using a rainbow of colours, which you can see here. I decided to use the same colours for this card.

I washed Daffodil Delight, Calypso Coral, Emerald Envy, Tempting Turquoise and Rich Razzleberry onto a piece of watercolour paper using an aqua painter to create a rainbow look.  I then did the same thing on a separate piece of watercolour paper which I then cut out with the Butterflies Thinlits once it had dried.  I swapped the order of the Daffodil Delight and Calypso Coral on this piece as it tended to flow better.

I’ve used an Emerald Envy card base with mats in Daffodil Delight and Calypso Coral underneath the watercolour piece. I used the Stitched Shapes Framelits (circle) in Shimmery White card stock to go behind the butterfly so it let the butterfly stand out and this was matted onto a Rich Razzleberry circle.

Due to the bright colours in the card, I didn’t want to take away from the focal point or hide the background, so I kept the sentiment quite subtle, using the “Happy Birthday” from the Teeny Tiny Sentiments stamp set.

Now it’s time for card number two.  This time I used the card which is in the middle at the bottom of the image on page 68 for my inspiration.  Can you see the one with the red background and the two little poodles?

As I don’t have this stamp set yet (I need to leave some to purchase throughout the year!), I chose to keep the layout and decided to make a little boy’s card. What do little boys like? Dinosaurs, of course! So I grabbed the No Bones About It stamp set without hesitation and set to work.

Here is what I came up with …

I started with an Old Olive card base and stamped the leaf and fern in Wild Wasabi and Old Olive. I stamped the footprints in Crumb Cake. The next layer is Crumb Cake card which I sponged with Crumb Cake ink. The dinosaurs were stamped onto Very Vanilla cardstock in Soft Suede and Wild Wasabi. The sentiment was stamped in Early Espresso. Being that it is a birthday card, the dinosaurs had to wear Real Red party hats!

I hope you enjoyed what I came up with this week. Let me know which card is your favourite. I’ve really enjoyed being a Guest Designer and would like to thank the Design Team for giving me this opportunity.  Please keep hopping around to see what the rest of the team has come up with. Next up on the hop is Fi Cobbin, so click the next button to check out the amazing creation she has come up with, then keep going.

Until next time, happy stamping

Michelle

Leave a Reply

