A Little Wild … baby mobile

Thanks for coming to my blog today! Well it’s been a month already since the last International Stampin’ Up!® Blog Highlight run by Kylie Bertucci and you are able to VOTE for my project again. The top ten winners will get to be part of an international blog hop so please vote for my project. You can do that here – http://bit.ly/KyliesJuneHighlightsVoteforMeHere

Our theme for this highlight is BABY.

The last few weeks have been crazy at our place with lots of sickness (including a few hospital visits) and my little girl’s 2nd birthday. Due to this, I finished this project at the 11th hour, so the photos aren’t as good as they could be. I’ll try to update my post with better photos when I get a chance.

I’ve made a number of baby cards over the past few years as I have young kids myself and have had a number of friends also having babies, so this time I thought I’d make  a 3D item instead. That’s the thing with paper crafts, you can make so much more than just cards.

To make this baby mobile, I’ve used some new products from the 2017-2018 Catalogues and others that carried over from previous catalogues. As soon as I saw the new catalogue, I knew I had to get the A Little Wild stamp set and matching Little Loves Framelit Dies. Isn’t this just the cutest set? It can make quick and easy gift tags or you can use the images on cards and other projects. This made for an easy item to hang from the mobile with the pre-punched hole at the top.

Another thing to keep in mind when making projects is to look at a variety of Framelits and Thinlits, not just the ones that match the stamp set or theme you are using.  You can often find little shapes that can be used on other things. For the small heart, I used the heart Framelit from the Up & Away Thinlits and the larger heart is from the Mini Treat Bag Thinlits. I also used the coordinating heart stamp from the You’re So Sweet stamp set.

I have also used the open butterfly from the Butterfly Thinlits. With each of the items to hang on the mobile I have cut out two to join together so you don’t see a back when it spins (except for the elephant which has the matching back and was perfect for this).  I have then used the Silver Metallic Thread to attach all the pieces to the top.

For the topper to the mobile, I have used stamps from a variety of stamps, “sweet dream” from the hostess set Dare to Dream, “Welcome baby” from the Special Occasions stamp set and “adorable” and the elephant image from the Tabs for Everything stamp set. It was all finished off with the Powder Pink Finely Woven Ribbon to hang it by.

Thanks for visiting my blog today make sure you head over to Kylie’s blog to vote for my project. I would love to be chosen to do an international blog hop. Just click on the image below.

Happy Stamping

Michelle

Leave a Reply

