Time for another challenge … CASEing the Catty

As I’ve said before, challenges are a great place to get inspiration from for your projects and this one is no exception. Rather than using a set sketch, colour combination or theme, this challenge gives you a wider scope so that you can choose something from the current Stampin’ Up!® catalogue as your inspiration.

This week the challenge (CTC #131) is based on the Everyday Occasions section, on pages 18-67, of the new 2017-2018 Annual Catalogue. There is so much to choose from! Once you find something you like, it’s up to you as to how much you CASE and what you make your own. You could CASE the entire card, just the layout, the colour combination, the stamp set or any other aspect.

Well, this is the image I chose to CASE. It’s from page 63 of the new catalogue. I chose the Melon Mambo card. I don’t have this stamp set, but that doesn’t matter I can use the layout with a different stamp set.

My 3.5 year old son has a birthday party to go to on the weekend for twin boys he is friends with from childcare who are turning 4. What do little boys like to play with? Dinosaurs, of course! So I pulled out the No Bones About It stamp set and decided to CASE the layout of the card. This is what I came up with…

You can see I’ve used different colours, Old Olive for my card base and used the footprint and leaf stamps with the Old Olive ink for the background. Then I splattered Old Olive ink onto the white mat before stamping the dinosaur in Pumpkin Pie and the bones in Early Espresso. I displayed the sentiment on the card in a similar way to the card in the catalogue. To get this effect I stamped the sentiment onto both Old Olive and Pumpkin Pie cardstock before trimming these into pieces with my paper snips.

To add a bit of dimension, the dinosaur and party hat (because you need a party hat for a birthday celebration) were adhered using Stampin’ Dimensionals. The new mini ones save you having to cut down the larger ones when using them on smaller items.

So what do you think? How did I go CASEing this image from the catalogue? If you used the same image, which elements would you keep and which ones would you change? Why not give it a go? Don’t forget to share with me what you come up with. Or if you prefer, pick your own image from the pages listed above and join this week’s challenge at CASEing the Catty!

Until next time,

Happy stamping

Michelle

Leave a Reply

