40th birthdays everywhere!

It seems to be the year for big birthdays, and my work is no exception.  I recently moved into a new team (just before Christmas) and this year in a team of approximately 12 people, we have 3 x 40th birthdays and a 50th.  There could be more, but that’s all I’m aware of so far.

As we were organising gifts for two of our team who celebrated their 40th birthday on Friday and tomorrow, I offered to make the cards to give to them.

So what do they like?  Well for the female who turned 40 on Friday, her favourite colour is purple, all things silver, likes shopping etc and was given a skydive as a present from  her family.  So taking that into account, here is what I came up with …

img_5057-copy

So what do you think?  Did it meet the brief?  I had to get a bit creative and do a bit of chopping from the new Up and Away Thinlits from the new Occasions catalogue. Cutting off the bottom of the hot air balloon.  I think I can get away with it looking like a fancy parachute.  The clouds are from the accompanying stamp set Lift Me Up.

The other 40th card was for a male.  I always have so much more trouble designing cards for men.  Anyway, I ended up using lots of bright colours and trying out a technique I’d been looking at for ages, Joseph’s Coat Technique.  I won’t get into how you do the technique today as I made a few cards using this, so watch out for my next post which will show step by step photos.

Here’s the second 40th card I made …

img_5067-copy

The technique tends to work better with stamps that are a thin outline rather than a solid image, but I think it still turned out ok.

Anyway, that’s it for today.  Stay tuned for my next post when I’ll explain the Joseph’s Coat technique and show you the other cards I made.

Don’t forget that it is Sale-A-Bration time at the moment where you get to choose 1 free product from the Sale-A-Bration Brochure for every $90 you spend.  Also, check all of the great goodies in the new Occasions catalogue.  If you’d like to place an order, please contact me at stampinstrazds@gmail.com or on 0408 448 426.

Happy Stamping

 

Leave a Reply

