A special thank you …

Today I am sharing a card with you that my mother-in-law asked me to make for the dialysis team who had been looking after her for the past 3 years.  She has moved to a new centre, but wanted to thank the old centre for everything they had done for her.

They have been looking after her 3 days a week for the past 3 years, so it couldn’t just be any ordinary card.  I wanted it to be a gift also that they may put on display in the centre.

So, what did I come up with?

butterfly-shadow-frame-open-card-copy

This is a shadow box card which I think looks like a gift as well as a card.  What do you think?  It is definitely not your ordinary card.  I’m sure that the ladies at the dialysis centre will love it and put it up on display for everyone to enjoy.

So how did I create the background?  Simple.  I grabbed a piece of Whisper White cardstock, my sponge daubers and three different colours that would go together to create a nice background.  (So that I’m being totally honest with you all,  I actually already had this background created as I made double the amount that I needed when creating another card for a teenager a few weeks ago.  I’ll share this card with you in the coming weeks).  The three colours I used were Soft Sky, Pool Party and Tempting Turquoise.

butterfly-shadow-frame-close-up-copyTo create the background I used the sponge daubers, 1 for each colour, and did little circles with them blending each colour slightly into the next.  I didn’t want them to blend totally, so you can see the different colours.

If you search on youtube “shadow card” you will be able to find instructions on how to make this type of card.  One of my stamping friends, Sharni, actually showed me a template and how to make this at our recent stamping retreat weekend.  I’m so glad she showed me when she was making one of these as it made it a lot easier when it came to putting it together.

butterfly-shadow-frame-front-on-copy

I hope you enjoyed seeing another of my creations and I really hope that the dialysis ladies enjoy it too.

If you would like to purchase any of the products that I have used to make the card above or anything else that you fancy from the catalogue, please feel free to contact me on 0408 448 426 or stampinstrazds@gmail.com

Happy stamping

Michelle

Products used:

  • Cardstock – Whisper White, Dazzling Diamonds Glitter Paper
  • Ink Pad – Soft Sky, Pool Party and Tempting Turquoise
  • Stamp Set – Jar of Love
  • Thinlits – Butterflies Thinlits
  •  Punch – Washi Label (retired)
  • Tools – Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine, Sponge Daubers
  • Embellishments – Rhinestones
  • Adhesives – Multipurpose Liquid Glue Stampin’ Dimensionals™ and SNAIL adhesive

 

Leave a Reply

