Decorative masks … a great base for a birthday card

I am part of a team, the Midnight Inklings, and when two of the lovely ladies in the team had their birthdays, just days apart, I just had to make a handmade card for each of them.  You can’t give a fellow card maker a store-bought card!

Then comes the question … what card should I make for them?  With a limited amount of time with 2 young kids, I wanted something that was simple, but effective.  Something came to mind … decorative masks.  I’ve only used them a few times, but they give a great background effect and I wanted try out the new Seasonal Decorative Masks from the Holiday catalogue.

holiday16_141848-73The decorative masks is a great, inexpensive way to create some amazing backgrounds.  For just $10.00 for the 4 stencils as shown above, you can’t go wrong.

So what did I do with them?

decorative-mask-birthday-cards-both-copy

Rather than keeping the background just one colour, to give some contrast and shading, I used three different colours starting with the lightest in the bottom right of the orange card to the top left, making sure I blended the colours where they met.  I used my trusty sponge daubers with the decorative masks to create this effect.  In the orange “Amazing” birthday card, I used Peekaboo Peach, Pumpkin Pie and Tangerine Tango.  I love the effect that was achieved.  Stamp the birthday sentiment, cut this out using the Tags and Labels Framelits and another for the mat in Peekaboo Peach, add a few rhinestones and some Ruched Ribbon and I was done.  I love how it turned out.  What do you think?

decorative-mask-orange-amazing-birthday-card-copy

So when it came to the second card, I used the same technique but mixed up the colours, mask and orientation of the card and it gave a different look.  On this card I used Emerald Envy, Bermuda Bay and Dapper Denim for my colours and the spotty mask from the Seasonal Decorative Masks.

decorative-mask-green-make-a-wish-birthday-card-copy

I hope that these cards have inspired you to use the Decorative Masks more to create a range of different backgrounds for your cards or scrapbooking.  Don’t have any Designer Series Paper to match what you are making?  Make your own using cardstock, masks and inks.  Although the two decorative masks that I used are part of the Seasonal Decorative Masks set, as you can see, they can be used for any occasion, not just Christmas, autumn etc.  So why not grab a set of these to help you create backgrounds for your cards, all year around.

Check out some other ideas of what you can do with the decorative masks that Stampin’ Up! has provided.

holiday16_p42c-15

If you would like to purchase any of the products that I have used to make the cards above, please feel free to contact me on 0408 448 426 or stampinstrazds@gmail.com

Happy stamping

Michelle

Products used:

Card #1

  • Cardstock – Whisper White, Pumpkin Pie and Peekaboo Peach
  • Ink Pad – Peekaboo Peach, Pumpkin Pie and Tangerine Tango
  • Stamp Set – Mixed Borders
  • Framelits – Tags and Labels Framelits
  • Tools – Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine, Sponge Daubers, Seasonal Decorative Masks
  • Embellishments – Rhinestones and Peekaboo Peach 3/8″ Ruched Ribbon
  • Adhesives – Multipurpose Liquid Glue and SNAIL adhesive

Card #2

  • Cardstock – Whisper White and Emerald Envy
  • Ink Pad – Emerald Envy, Bermuda Bay and Dapper Denim
  • Stamp Set – Party Wishes (Retired)
  • Framelits – Layering Circles Framelits
  • Tools – Paper Snips, Stampin’ Trimmer, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine, Sponge Daubers, Seasonal Decorative Masks
  • Embellishments – Rhinestones and Emerald Envy 3/8″ Ruched Ribbon
  • Adhesives – Multipurpose Liquid Glue and SNAIL adhesive
Leave a Reply

